A little personal and a little political

Good Samaritan

So, does being positive help? Positive Attitude would be a good subject, but may be for a different day. Today I want to write about a Good Samaritan I came across recently.

It took me a few weeks to complete the application for my child’s PIO card (type of Indian visa), gather all the supporting documents and get them notarized. Since I wasn’t in a rush, I wanted to make sure the application package is 100% complete and the Indian embassy would not have a reason to ask for any more information. In other words, I did not want to deal with them if I don’t have to.

After I was convinced that the package was ready to go, I went to the post office, transferred the paperwork into a stronger/safer envelop and deposited it with the postal guy. I even paid extra for certified mail.

I had a sigh of relief. At that time I did not know I made a mistake.

IĀ  made few more stops and finally got home. It struck me right then. I noticed one piece of important document, birth certificate(BC) still stuck in the original packet which was still with me. Somehow I missed that one while I transferred the documents to a “safer” envelop. It was a Saturday and the time was 2:30 in the afternoon. As the post office closes at 3 PM, I had enough time to go back and post the BC. But I was cursing myself as there is a chance that the birth certificate might be misplaced (as I don’t even have a tracking #) by the Indian Embassy and the process might be delayed.

Since there was no other option, I attached a cover letter to the BC, and rushed to the post office. At the post office, I went to the same guy I deposited the packet earlier. I wanted to give one last shot, as my natural instinct kicked in. I asked him if I can have the package I deposited earlier back so that I can add the document I missed.

He looked puzzled, as 1) he did not recognize me 2) he did not understand my question.

After few seconds he said it was not possible… then he asked me what time I deposited? I said around noon. He said there was a pick up at 1:30 PM, so my package would be in the truck already. I think he noticed my face became pale and half its size. He said let me go back and take a look. I said yeah…rrright (of course I didn’t say that out).

10 minutes passed and the post office was closed for incoming people. I saw the postal guy walking towards me with the packet. The same packet I had deposited. I was amazed…. I didn’t show it out, but I felt like a kid who got a big cone of ice cream. It is not the same perception you get from watching Newman in Seinfeld.

When I asked for the packet, I thought the chance that he would even consider my request was less than 1%. I asked him anyway, because it wouldn’t hurt to ask. The reason I was able to attach the BC to the application was him. But he wouldn’t be able to help me, if I didn’t ask.

He opened the package for me and I slid in the BC. I thanked him many times and returned. Now I am waiting for the PIO card.

So to answer whether being positive really helps or not, I think it does. At least some times it does.

Good Samaritan – General usage definition from answers.com – “A compassionate person who unselfishly helps others.” The phrase Good Samaritan was originally from the Bible.

One comment on “Good Samaritan

  1. Sheetal
    February 17, 2010

    Interesting read Sri! I think having a positive attitude makes you want to give everything you have until that last minute and does help to improve your chances of success. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2010 by in English, Personal, U.S..
