A little personal and a little political

Man in the Merc

Around 2’o clock in the afternoon, few days ago. I was driving to the work as usual. Right after I turned the first corner, something caught my eye.

There was a convertible Mercedes Benz parked on the side of the street. There was a man sleeping in it. I think he was in his mid 50s. The top of the car was open all the way down. He was wearing a suit. He looked like he was on his tea break from his work. I felt a little strange because he was sleeping on the side of the street, in the middle of the day, with his convertible car top open. Was he not scared that a bird might crap right in to his car? Was he not worried his boss might yell at him for skipping time from work? Was he not concerned that a cop might harass him for sleeping in the car? Obviously, a moment later something else caught my eye, and I forgot about him. But not for too long…

Next day, I saw him again, sleeping in his car, under the same tree. His face was peaceful, as if he was enjoying every bit of the breeze blowing from the hills. As a matter of fact, it is a pleasant weather, 70o F temperature (20o C) with clear sunny day. Early May in Southern California, what else do you expect? Our neighborhood is on a small hill. From where he was sleeping, you can’t see any concrete (buildings) or people running around with their stressed out faces. I can understand why he comes here to take his nap. I feel better about my neighborhood.

I saw him doing the same thing all week. I am sure he could afford to take a nap in an A/C room. But he preferred a calm outdoor spot. There is some serenity to see a man enjoying the weather in the mid day. It gave me a positive outlook for the rest of the day.

It is amazing to see how people can enjoy small things if they took a moment. What we need is probably right in front of us. It is probably not too expensive. But what we may need to do to see it is, slow down a notch.

I didn’t see him on my way to work today. I kind of miss that sight. I hope he will show up tomorrow. If not, I will try to find a positive sign in something else.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 11, 2010 by in English, From the street, U.S..
