A little personal and a little political

How to steal plastic spoons from work place, ethically.

Couple of years ago, I was working Sunday shift. One such Sunday I was working all alone, probably in the entire building. I saw something I will ever forget. One Indian guy came with his wife and their 4-year-old child. They went straight to the break room, and started doing something. Since it is strange, I got curious. I sit across that place, so I could see what they were doing. I don’t think they realized I was there.

The wife went straight to the coffee area. She started filling her hand bag with sugar packets. I think she emptied all of them. Then she started to take other stuff, then she noticed me. She whispered to her husband, and they left right away. I am pretty convinced they went to other floors and picked up more sugar.

I couldn’t digest what I saw. I asked my team members whether I should complain to HR. They all convinced me that it will end his job, and probably bring bad name for Indians. I am sure he was probably making close to six figure salary. Does he really need to steal those small sugar packets and risk his job? We all occasionally use the office printer for something personal, but using work place as a grocery shop is something else.

Anyway. For folks like them, I now found an ethical way to steal plastic spoons from work place. This will work only at the places where plastic spoons are free to consume. This is how….

Bring your lunch from home. Don’t bring a spoon. Use the plastic spoon from the break area to eat your lunch. After using it, instead of throwing it in the dust bin, put it in your empty lunch box. By the end of the month, you would have stolen about 20 spoons.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on November 2, 2011 by in English, India, Personal, U.S..
