A little personal and a little political

Childhood fantasy of my dad and his Yezdi

Do you know the first sound you recognized in your life? I do. It was the sound of my dad’s motorcycle coming home. I listened to it from when I was days old, everyday. I don’t know exactly how old I was when I had this never-spoken-before fantasy, but certainly younger than 6-7 years. Because I know I was in Guntur then, and we left that town after my 2nd class.

I used to imagine my dad as a movie hero. Mainly because he was strong, yet calm and composed. He looked smart; always wore clean clothes, belt and leather shoes. He never scolded me nor beat me. He also had answers for everything. He was patient and answered my endless questions. Very rarely he used to say that he did not know the answer, but I did not believe him. He was probably protecting me by not telling the real answer.

But when my dad was driving his Yezdi with his grey helmet on, he was not any ordinary hero. I always wondered how that helmet was so hard outside and yet so soft inside. I did not see many driving Yezdi, and certainly did not see many wearing a helmet like that. With his bike, helmet and several other factors (like he had a heroine in my mom), he was not less than any James Bond. Yes, my dad took me to James Bond and Bruce Lee movies; My dad was not Bruce Lee because that was me. I could even beat my dad if I was really angry. I will leave that topic for a different day.

When I went out with my dad, I used to sit on the petrol tank of Yezdi so I could see everything (also because my mom and sister sat behind my dad). I liked the wind hitting my face. It made me feel that we were going faster. I always counted how many other bikes, scooters we passed. I used to get angry if a different bike passed us, then I used to push my dad to speed up. I am not sure if he listened to me, but more often than not, we managed to defeat the other guys (who were probably the bad guys).

Then I imagined that my dad had been chased by the police everyday on his way back from work. Of course my dad could never do something wrong, so the police must have been mistaken about my dad. Anyway, my dad was so fast that they never caught him. Sometime after he came home, I used to look down the street and see if police are still on their way. They never came, because my dad was that fast.

Then there was a dent in the helmet. I remember asking my dad how that dent happened. I don’t remember his answer, probably because I thought he was not telling the real reason. The real reason I believed was that police one day shot at him, and his helmet took the bullet. I told the same to my friends. They were wowed by that fact

Other post about my dad: https://atluris.wordpress.com/2011/06/18/most-important-call/

11 comments on “Childhood fantasy of my dad and his Yezdi

  1. Sundeep
    January 13, 2012

    Beauty! I am convinced your father was/is a superhero.

    The yezdi was indeed legendary when we were kids. The look, the sound, the power. One of my uncles had us cousins all going for a while about how there was another motorbike, the ‘ipzah’, which, while looking similar in all respects, was superior. And he even produced a specimen one day, one that belonged to his friend, and I remember being awestruck, both by the bike and my handsome hunk of an uncle. It was only after some time (months or years I am not sure), that we figured out the ipzah was just a yezdi with its name plate fixed upside down!

    • Pranoy
      April 29, 2013

      Awsm.

  2. valiantvattikuti
    January 13, 2012

    Amazing ..memories of we brothers fighing for the place on petrol tank refreshed..thank you!!

    • atluris
      January 13, 2012

      Haha…that is so funny…I guess I am lucky to have a sister…

  3. K. Selvaraj Kendriya Vidyalaya 9th Std 1970 - Gill Nagar
    January 15, 2012

    It brings back nostalgic memories. I was also a yezdi freak and loved to ride one to college. But I could not afford one. So within 6 months of my getting a job, I purchased a second hand bike from my Chithappa for Rs. 2000/- way back in 1979. I remember picking the bike from Ambattur along with my landlords son who was sort of experts on bikes and on the way the accelerat0r cable went kaput and my friend drove the vehicle my manuplating the cable with the hand all the way to Pondy bazzar, T. Nagar. My bike was a green yezdi with a Jawa Tank and side rubber pads. It was the last model before it was metamorphed to Yezdi with a Rectangular tank. All yezdi freaks would remove the silencer and tune the carburettor so that there is no idle engine ,noise. One can start the vehicle only by sitting on the seat because you have to raise the throttle simultaneously otherwise it would stop. Oh! what a sound it used to give – there would not be a single beat when you close the throttle and it would howl as you accelerate. My friends would not borrow my bike as they could not kick start by sitting on the bike. Guys with bikes tuned this way were a breed apart and were the most popular guys in their college as well as known to most of the girls of other colleges in their localities. One could identify the arrival of the vehicle a km away. I moved from II hand yezdi to another yezdi. At that time the waiting period was 3 months. So I went all the way to Kumbakonam and booked a vehicle and brought by train. My third vehicle was also an Yezdi.
    I fixed a Mikuni carburator and indicator lights purchased from singapore. Those days were great fun. Would you believe this – my wife said okay for the alliance as she had seen a Yezdi parked in my garage. Thanks for taking me back to the 80’s. I was the Dad/ Hero for my son when I owned this classic and stylish vehicle,

    • atluris
      January 19, 2012

      Thank you for sharing your memories with us!!!

  4. Vishal
    March 7, 2012

    Beautiful write up, my friend. Although I can’t relate with sitting on the tank (because my dad has never been into bikes) I hope someday my son/daughter will blog like this about his/her experience on my RD350.

    Very well penned; I’m at a loss for compliments 🙂

    • atluris
      March 12, 2012

      Thank you Vishal. I think dad is the first hero for every child. I am sure they will think of you like that. RD350 is a champ. Good bike and good write up!

    • atluris
      March 12, 2012

      Btw, I tried to post a comment on your blog, but it won’t let me. I will try again.

  5. Pingback: The Yes Mom !!! « A little personal and a little political

  6. Dr Janetius
    December 8, 2013

    Wonderful childhood memories, I wish you get a Yezdi and relive your memories…. good luck

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 13, 2012 by in English, Fantasy, India, Memories, Movies, Personal, Photo and tagged , , , , , , , , .
