A little personal and a little political

The Yes Mom !!!

In my childhood I was known for forgetting stuff. Couple of examples. We used to have a games period (I am sure the next generation doesn’t know that) twice a week. I removed the black shoes before the games, and played barefoot. Very often I forgot wearing the shoes after the games period. Sometimes I used to walk home without realizing that I wasn’t wearing my shoes, and sometimes my sister used to let me know on the way. We both went back to the play ground, but we never found the shoes. Other example of me forgetting things.. sometimes I used to forget that I wasn’t wearing a shirt, walk outside, then come back in and wear it. Even though I improved a lot since then, remembering is still a big thing, especially from my childhood days. Some memories are great, I know sooner or later I will forget them. So I am going to pen down some of those, about my mom.

Mom, I remember..

  1. I was about 2 or 3. I remember you running to the door, right behind us whenever we heard dad’s Yezdi motor cycle sound approaching the home.
  2. I was about 2 or 3. We used to be in a rental house, upstairs. I used to play one game with you. I took the dishes from the kitchen, and run towards the balcony. You ran towards me to stop. But you were too late.. I used to throw the dish down. You ended up with dented dishes, and an upset house owner. But you were never upset with me.
  3. I was about 3 or 4. I was sick that day. I was on the bed. You were in the kitchen. I was feeling nausea, and started throwing up. I wanted to go to the bathroom and throw up, so you didn’t have the clean the floor. I ran across 3 rooms to get to the bathroom, and you had to clean all the three rooms and the bathroom.
  4. I was about 4 or 5. I remember watching the full moon from the balcony, from you lap, listening to your songs.
  5. I was about 5 or 6. I used to leave my pencil sharpening blade in my school shorts. More than once you cut your fingers while either removing it, or washing the shorts. You didn’t even scold me for that.
  6. I was about 5 or 6. I remember I lost Rs 30, which I was supposed to pay the tuition master. Probably one of the only 2-3 times you hit me. Later in the night you said sorry, and I told I don’t remember you hitting me.
  7. I was about 7 or 8. Every time you cooked something different, I insisted not to eat. But after eating it I asked you to cook the same thing everyday.
  8. I was about 12 or 13. I helped you wash the house. I carried several buckets of water, and you washed the house. I enjoyed helping you as much as I did playing with my friends.
  9. I was about 13 or 14. I wore spotless ironed white shirt and shiny black shoes to the school every single day, every single year.
  10. I was 15. You told me to respect girls, and you said all girls are as important as my sister, and I should treat them all just the way I would treat my sister.
  11. I was 17. I used to complain about the food every day. One day you asked me to understand that you are trying hard to prepare the food. Since then, not once I complained about food, but just happy that I am able to eat.

Whatever it be, I was treated with love and respect, more like an adult than as a small kid. I got an answer for every silly question I asked. I remember she even let me play even when I have fever. Because we both knew being happy will make me better than hiding under the bed-sheets. I knew she was worried for me. But she never let her worries stop me from having fun or learning new stuff. She says yes to everything I wanted, in one way or the other. She is the Yes Mom.

Here is another childhood memory I posted earlier this year: https://atluris.wordpress.com/2012/01/13/childhood-fantasy-of-my-dad-and-his-yezdi/

One comment on “The Yes Mom !!!

  1. rajmverma
    January 20, 2013

    nice…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2012 by in English, Fantasy, India, Memories, Personal.
